Enough

Calendar

You take your time to tell a story
Suspending judgment in your certain way
The complete picture is in the details
I could listen to you talk all day.
I see your eyes as they dance to life
I watch your mouth as it curves a smile
My mind caresses that little scar
I listen intently all the while.

With only a few scant precious hours
A mid-week encounter to explore what’s next
Time challenges our sensory sensations
To capture moments not found in a text.
Our time is now until we meet again
With the grip of love a little stronger
I wrap this memory inside my arms
And I hold on to it a little longer.

It’s in the words that you say
and in the things that we do.
Always discovering a little more.
I can’t get enough of you.

Kindness rooted in this mutual respect
The truth can be found in our silent vow
Compassion engrained in how we live
We’ve made good decisions to arrive at now.
But so much more exists inside us
Coming to the surface whenever we kiss
Evident and real in the passion that prevails
From the meandering trail that has led to this.

Singular spirits with common goals
Always putting our children first
Consuming life while leaving space
For all of the adventure that we thirst.
Making the most of what we have
Cheers to us and to the people we are
To living with integrity and determined grit
The distance between us never too far.

Yet it is distant just the same
and puts limits on what we do
Always hoping for a little more.
I can’t get enough of you.

It’s the little things that make us tick
I soak them all in until we meet again
Until now aligns with place and time
And where and how just lead to when.
But mostly I notice you, and why I feel
The excitement and that parting ache
How much better it is to have you there
Lying right beside me when I wake.

Never enough hours for us to share
and mornings together are far too few
Always leaving me wanting more.
I can’t get enough of you.

Clock

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Cerebral Images.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Trixie

     /  June 28, 2013

    Brilliant writing Mr. Greentree! Great to see you have found such happiness as well. The imagery is stellar as well.
    Jordan

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

