LEAVE

blocked path
The way you sapped my daily strength
With a negative outlook and minimal view
I used to wake up and hope for more
There was little left of me, and none for you
 
Our everyday had become a cliché
Your glass was empty, mine half full
Positives only attract when they align
Our physical magnet had lost its pull
 
The motivation that love should have and hold
Would never be as steady as it was before
Inspiration lost in a half-written verse
Long since crumpled and fallen to the floor

The happiness that I thought you were
Was not the person that I came to see
It took its toll on my diminished soul
There was little left of you, and none of me

It was time for me to leave…
No need to talk about it any more
No point in picking up the phone
Love had left and closed the door
I just wanted to be alone.
 
Morning thoughts were common dreams
Plans we made to embrace each day
A life enhanced by family and friends
Escapes from work, to get away
 
Was it just wishful thinking on my part
A failure to recognize what was real
The words you thought I needed to hear
Concessions to shape the way I’d feel
 
How else do I explain the unusual dissent
The change in outlook, the hurt so raw
The disappointment of life gone wrong
Feelings of failure, the final straw
 
Abandoned journey to expand our horizons
With the richness of the world we treasure
You snatched away the joy of making plans
Not for family, and none for pleasure
 
I had no choice except to leave…
Stagnant emotions in a haze of doubt
Stuck in the rut inside our home
Losing the will to live each day
Essential for me to be alone.
 
I’d find you asleep in a motionless chair
Your maternal glow was a sure attraction
That emotion I felt though, was rarely there
Addition somehow had become your subtraction
 
We dreamed about the treasure of a family
Two new lives should boost our worth
The richness of growing all as one
The reason it’s called the joy of birth
 
We are supposed to be here to shine their way
Beacons of love that will help them see
Not a dark cloud on a dimly lit horizon
I can’t even comprehend how this can be
 

Unhealthy to be bound by just because
What they should not view as man and wife
Pursue different paths to what is true
Set good examples and embrace this life


It was mindful relief for me to leave…

To get away from those hard feelings
The hurtful words, the harmful tone
To create a quiet space for healing
I just needed to be alone.

To grow and know and thrive and be
An open window to the world around

Search and explore and discover more
Something got lost and was never found

Reality had become my weary burden
Despite our willingness to share the load

Exhausted from worry that need not be

Too drained to carry us down that road

We altered our course to one unknown
An unfamiliar route lined with doubt
An uneven trail on a winding path
To stop the commotion I needed to get out

I knew it was time for me to leave…
We both understood the vital signs

An agonizing while that we had known

That time had left us far behind

It was time for us to be alone.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

