Tears

tears bench

My heart was as big as life
where love had made its mark
My eyes caressed you in the daylight
My arms embraced you in the dark

Those eyes that were so sensitive
closed suddenly as we kissed
Those lips that were so tender
made the merest touch sheer bliss

Everything mattered to us then
We knew how it could and should be
We knew our love was very real
I knew that you belonged with me

The time that we spent together
shortened each time we were apart
I smile when I think about you
It’s been like that from the start

Only now my smile fades sooner
because my heart begins to pound
I try not to let myself cry, but fail
and struggle to conceal the sound

Bitter tears run down my cheek
as helpless pangs consume me
I can feel the love that once was
and it’s your face I always see

I lay in bed and stare at nothing
I reach to hold the hand not there
Empty sheets are all that I feel
and lonely thoughts I dare not share

I’m so afraid to close my eyes                                                            Tears bed
and dream about us once more
I sit up sad and cold and angry
and put one pillow on the floor

Never far from my conscience
I know how perfect it was before
I can’t just forget that kind of love
as we slowly seem close the door

The same two people live inside us
The same two who never fought
The same two who fell in love
That’s great and that’s a lot

Nothing else seems to matter now
I know how it can and should be
I know the feeling was very real
I know that you belong with me

My tears tell me so.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

