FAITH

Faith Books

We are here to celebrate in the eyes of their maker
We are here to join two good people as man and wife
To put a righteous stamp on their first page together
To share guidance and guidelines for the rest of their life

We are here to say good-bye to the dearly departed
The volunteer, the neighbour, the follower, the friend
So easy to find solace and comfort in their collective loss
After they hear of the peace she had found near the end

I watch intently as the representative speaks
Certain, as he, that he lives by every word
I look around to find the faces of that same belief
It’s the story that binds them and what they’ve heard

The words one subscribes to can define who we are
The right inspiration might be found in another book
We should choose to learn more about good not evil
Search for more of the positive, wherever we look

No where does it say that faith and war should collide
Why can’t those people use their passive voice
Why can’t believers follow the peace they entrust
It isn’t so written in their document of choice

I smile for those who have found their way
And I feel for the ones who think they are lost
I worry for the those neither here nor there
And I fear for the ones whose faith has a cost

Never have I ever considered drastic measures
Even through the depths of my lowest of lows
Seasons change and people pass by like a breeze
Our lives are cyclical and that’s just how it goes

Whenever I ask myself Why me? or Why them?
When life brings me down and when times are tough
I can find my own faith in those whom I love
In family and friends, I find faith enough

I find my inner peace on level ground
A foundation of family that helps me to cope
Inherent building blocks of a lifetime so far
A life that I balance with experience and hope

My faith comes from the truth and my own need to know
I don’t require a symbol for who I should be
I draw upon the best I see in myself and others
I have faith in my choice, and I choose to believe in me

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. JW

     /  August 1, 2013

    Forever your servant Lord Tree!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

