Struggling

 

Struggling

I see you struggling to open your eyes.

Despite your efforts, you cannot see
Despite knowing just where I’ll be
Here beside you, until pain-free.

Only then can we drift apart
Only then can my sorrow start.
Behind every breath is your fading heart.


I see you struggling for peaceful sleep.

Despite your illness it is hard to rest
Despite the medicine to calm your chest
I will comfort you through this final test.

Only then can we drift apart
Only then can my sorrow start.
Behind every breath is your fading heart.


I see you struggling for every breath.

Despite your will, there is no way
Despite the fact you can hear me say
I will be with you until your final day.

Only then will we drift apart
Only then will my sorrow start.
Behind every breath is your fading heart.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

