Weary

      Weary

 My left arm straight out
I wake up locked in place
right arm pinned under me
exasperation on my face.
Eyes-only glance to my left
3:17 on the clock
despite the untimely hour
I need to get up and walk.
A struggle to just get started
so familiar and frustrating
slowly turn onto my back
where another knot is waiting.
The motion too abrupt
I hear her wearily say
“is it still bothering you?
  I hope you are okay?”

The pain is now both of ours
awake in the dead of night
nothing seems to change
 will I ever feel alright?


Do I sit up or do I roll?

either way is a chore
which move tonight?
the best way to the floor?
Eventually I am standing
legs weary under the weight
I finally feel my body
it doesn’t feel great.
Sluggish, sore and irritated
I consume a gasp of air
regain some composure
as much as I can bear.
Knowing she’d like some water
I’m too spent to think
“I am getting some pills
can I get you a drink?”

The cat greets me with a look
as I flick on the kitchen light
as if to say “not again…
 will you ever be alright?”


Taking stock of my aches

I try to shake them out
wrist a pulsing whimper
shoulders a throbbing shout.
Stillness seems wiser
let my thoughts unwind
“concentrate elsewhere
relax and avert your mind.”
Leaning against the counter
I stare blankly at the floor
choke down two tablets
then swallow one more.
I need to get back to bed
the morning will be rough
the microwave says 3:39
  my body says “enough.”

Same tired routine
night after night after night
nothing seems to change
 will I ever feel alright?


Back to my drowsing beauty
dozing none too deep
her eyes loosely closed

hovering near sleep.
  “Are you feeling okay?”
raises her head, as I lie
“just the usual” I say
and we both know why.
Her hand touches my arm
“try to get some rest”
her calm voice soothing
puts her head on my chest.
For a moment I forget
the pain politely subsides
peace eventually arrives
and she’s the reason why.

Despite the same worries
and another rocky night
despite the constant pain
she makes me feel alright.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I don’t have a cat but I am familiar with 3am. Doctor told me on my last visit I have the back of a 100 year old man which I found comical since I only feel 99.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Kerrie Hearty

     /  August 30, 2014

    Hi Gary,
    I look forward to finding your invitations in my inbox. Invites to share your exclusive mould of thoughts and words. It occurs to me that women write most of the books I read and blogs I follow. I find it decidedly refreshing to read a male perspective of the life journey.
    Thank you and I hope the drugs helped 😉 perhaps a pub crawl will ease your weariness.
    Cheers,
    Kerrie

    Like

    Reply
  3. scott7edwards

     /  August 29, 2014

    Nice – from an artistic point of view

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

