Five

IMG_20141020_183556[1]

Five


Turns her light on

as my feet touch the floor
I set my alarm for five
been awake since four

“Already,” I hear her say
echoing my first thought
Her six hours of sleep
one more than I got

“Stay in bed,” I suggest
three seconds too late
Gets up with me at five
doesn’t leave until eight

Meeting again in the kitchen
a few minutes after that
Two cups for tea and coffee
a scoop of food for the cat

A quiet morning moment
her eyes finding mine
Five seconds of a hug
same warmth every time

I hear her kettle whistle
as I shut the bathroom door
Three quarter turn of the tap
and then left a little more

A double pump of shampoo
a rinse, a towel and a mat
Five minutes for a shave
a couple to dress after that

It all seems so similar
same reason and same rhyme
Putting on a pair of pants
one tired leg at a time

A kiss at a quarter to six
and I am out the door
Already looking forward
to sometime after four

Doesn’t make a single difference
if it is routine or not
 Whether it’s this home, now
or in the new one we’ve bought

We are in this together
and it goes both ways
A team working as one
for those five busiest days

What makes it worthwhile
is that it is the two of us
Making seven lunches
and getting five to the bus

Can only strengthen our bond
make us feel more alive
Supporting each other
even when the clock says five

It’s what will make our new home
far more than just bricks
And it will feel five times better
when we can set the alarm for six

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

