Charleston


IMG_20140925_115842[1]

               Charleston

IMG_20140925_114849[1]
Looking out at the lake
Stretching my tired arms high
Shaking out the morning rust
Roused early and appreciating why

A view of your possibilities
What an awakened mind sees
Contemplation and inspiration
Your enormity and your ease

Compelling me to paint with words
Charming me with all you’ve got
A mind with renewed purpose
An expansive canvas to open thought

I am filled with the day

Charleston Lake, you got meIMG_20140925_115819[1]
Your essence holds me near
Charleston Lake affected
I was meant to be here

Glancing out on the lake
Your beauty caresses my eyes
Every colour calmly reflected
Tall trees touching the skies

Scanning the scope of your horizon
Contemplating your every layer
Exploring the complexity of your landscape
And picturing myself there

Creviced shapes and weathered faces
Sculptured images along a rocky shore
Tempting ledges and curious places
A short paddle to discover more

I am struck by your way

Charleston Lake, you got me
Your essence holds me near
Charleston Lake reflective
I find myself in your mirror

Charleston Lake, you get me
I’ll see you next year

IMG_20140924_183330[1]


Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jody

     /  October 30, 2014

    I have similar feelings about Algonquin – Ma nature does no wrong and your writing is exceptional – as to be expected.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

