Condescending

         Condescending

I hear it far too oftenIMG_20150710_175055[1]
And I shudder to the bone
People, speaking down to people
In a condescending tone

Experts, or so they think
On every single subject known
They read it or heard about it once
So, there’s a condescending tone

Discussions are rendered pointless
Opinions matter, but theirs alone
Never are they actually listening
Then, the condescending toneIMG_20150710_175544[1]

Everything has to be just so
Valid options are only their own
It’s their way or the highway
Hence, the condescending tone

It’s a sure way to push me away
Each word spouted makes me moan
I associate just hearing their name
With their condescending tone

So now I simply avoid them
Don’t even consider answering the phone
I see their number, I hear their drivelIMG_20150710_184225[1]
And that condescending tone

I suppose if you are reading this
And you fit into that horrendous zone
You are now speaking condescendingly
About my condescending tone

So, you are now subjecting someone else
To your irritating, nails on a chalkboard drone
You, You…are a double negative, personified
You…with your never-ending, self-centering,
mind bending, touching every nerve ending,
common sense offending, accidentally called
a fax machine that’s sending…
condescending tone

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

